Quinn Declares 6 More Counties Disaster Areas

SPRINGFIELD (WTVO) -- More Illinois counties were added to the disaster declaration list Tuesday morning as a result of the worst November tornado outbreak in state history.

Governor Pat Quinn (D) declared Douglas, Jasper, Pope, Wabash, Wayne, and Will Counties as state disaster areas, increasing the total number of declared counties to 13.

More than 200 people were injured and six kills as a result of the storms that raced through Illinois on Sunday.
SPRINGFIELD -- Governor Pat Quinn declared seven counties state disaster areas early Monday morning after Sunday's deadly tornado outbreak. 

Counties included in the Governor’s declaration are: Champaign, Grundy, LaSalle, Massac, Tazewell, Washington and Woodford counties.  At least 6 people are reported dead and dozens more injured.  Hundreds of homes and businesses have been damaged or destroyed, hundreds of thousands of people are without power, and numerous roads throughout the state have been closed by fallen trees and downed power lines.

“Yesterday Illinois was hit extremely hard by deadly tornadoes that left many in a great deal of pain and loss,” Governor Quinn said in a news release. “Although we are still receiving reports of massive damage to communities across our state, we want to make sure people are getting the assistance and resources they need as quickly as possible. As we pray for the families of those who have lost their lives and others who are injured, the state of Illinois will do everything necessary to help these communities recover.

The state disaster declaration makes available state resources that can help affected areas recover from the storms. The State Incident Response Center (SIRC) in Springfield was activated Sunday afternoon and will remain operational as long as necessary. Liaisons from several state agencies are working with the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) to coordinate the deployment of state personnel and assets to assist local governments in the affected areas.

More information about the state’s flood response and flood safety is available on the Ready Illinois website at www.Ready.Illinois.gov.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News

Video Center