State To Provide Relief For Tornado Victims After Denial From FEMA


WASHINGTON - Gov. Pat Quinn (D) announces a $45 million relief package to help the central Illinois towns devastated by a series of tornadoes in November.

The money will go to: Washington, Brookport, Gifford, New Minden, Diamond, Coal City, East Peoria, Champaign Co., Douglas Co., Grundy Co., Massac Co., Tazewell Co., Vermilion Co., Washington Co., Wayne Co., and Woodford Co.

"Our tornado-ravaged communities need help and they need it now" said Quinn.  "While it's disappointing that our request for federal disaster relief was denied due to outdated rules, the state... is committed to providing assistance to communities that need it.

Here's how some of the money will break down:

  • Up to $10 million to local governments to rebuild infrastructure
  • $4.5 million for housing repair and reconstruction for low-income residents
  • $3.6 million for unmet housing needs from communities impact by last spring's flooding and November's tornadoes
  • $1 million in Rapid Response funding
  • $3.55 million for cleanup, emergency protective measures, and overtime
  • $5.35 million to repair damaged water systems
  • $2.5 million in emergency rehabilitation of 50 low-income households

"Recovery won't happen overnight, but this aid will help people rebuild their lives."

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News

Video Center