Noah NBA's Top Defensive Player

The National Basketball Association announced today that Chicago Bulls center Joakim Noah was selected the 2013-14 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year.  Noah is the second Bull to win the award, as he joins Michael Jordan, who won the award in 1987-88.

“Joakim is many things for our team and he has proven to be a terrific competitor, leader and teammate.  But what Joakim truly is, is a winner,” said Chicago Bulls General Manager Gar Forman.  “He will be the first to say that this is a team award, but he sets the tone for our defense and I cannot think of anyone who is more deserving of such a prestigious individual honor. The organization is very proud of Joakim and wants to congratulate him for being named the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year.”

After finishing fourth in last year’s balloting, Noah collected 555 out of a possible 1,125 points, including 100 out of a possible 125 first-place votes from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.  Indiana’s Roy Hibbert (166 points, eight first-place votes) and the Los Angeles Clippers’ DeAndre Jordan (121 points, eight first-place votes) came in second and third, respectively.  Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.


More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News

Video Center