Hoffman Wins NSTC

Hoffman Wins NSTC

Eddie Hoffman won the Super Late Model 200 lap feature race Sunday at the Rockford Speedway.
Machesney Park-(By Eric Huenefeld) It's been a long time coming for "Fast Eddie" Hoffman.

On Sunday afternoon, Hoffman was dominant during the 48th Annual National Short Track Championship (NSTC) at Rockford Speedway, leading leading 197 of the 200 laps en route to his fourth career National Short Track Championship. The win marked Hoffman's first NSTC win since 2005.

Hoffman started the 200 laps outside the front row, alongside teenager Austin Nason. Hoffman was able to run out to the early lead and hold off several challenges from several challengers throughout the main event. Steve Rubeck was the only driver to momentarily snag the lead from Hoffman, edging ahead shortly after lap 50. Hoffman later survived numerous challenges from defending NSTC winner Rich Bickle during race's middle stages.

Late in the race, local favorite Jon Reynolds Jr raced to the runner up spot and gave Hoffman a quick challenge for the lead. But as the race rolled towards its conclusion, Hoffman stretched what was a ten foot advantage into a full straightaway advantage. Hoffman was never seriously challenged over the final 20 laps en route to the victory. In winning his fourth NSTC, Hoffman moved into third on the All-Time NSTC Wins List, trailing only Steve Carlson and Joe Shear, who both won eight National Short Track Championships.

Reynolds, who earlier in the day took the victory in the 108 lap Big 8 Series event, settled for second place. The runner up finish for Reynolds was his best ever NSTC Super Late Model finish, bettering a fifth place run in 2010. Sussex Wisconsin driver Steve Apel finished the race in third position, his best ever Rockford Speedway finish and first ever NSTC top five.

Official Results
48th National Short Track Championship 200 Rockford Speedway

1. #8 Eddie Hoffman
2. #X Jon Reynolds Jr.
3. #16 Steve Apel
4. #45 Rich Bickle
5. #14 Austin Nason
6. #30 Larry Schuler
7. #57 Landry Potter
8. #0 Josh Nelms
9. #88 Rick Corso
10. #40 Jeremy Lepak
11. #7 Pauly Shafer
12. #8 Josh Wallace
13. #17 Brian Johnson Jr
14. #51 Stevie Campbell
15. #61 Steve Rubeck
16. #02 Ricky Bilderback
17. #2 Michael Bilderback
18. #28 Bobby Wilberg
19. #2 Lowell Bennett
20. #9 Braison Bennett
21. #10 Mike Strupp
22. #18 Rob Maynor
23. #54 Erik Pierce
24. #14 Brandon Hill
25. #5 Casey Johnson
26. #1 Mark Sontag Jr.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus