A wide variety of new state laws kicked in across the country on Tuesday, including everything from laws that govern female representation in corporate America to children’s handwriting — and Vermont is paying people $10K to move there!
2019 will bring bigger paychecks for some workers in 19 states as laws go into effect that increase their hourly minimum wage, according to the National Employment Law Project.
By the end of 2021, corporations must have at least two or three female board members on their staff, depending on the size of their board of directors. Violations of this law can be punishable by fines up to $300,000.
Fashion forward hunters in Illinois will now have another color option for their hunting wardrobe as the state becomes the seventh nationwide to expand the color options from the standard “blaze orange” to an equally bright “blaze pink.”
Also in Illinois, people purchasing guns will have to wait 72-hours for all firearm purchases.
In addition, children under 40 pounds are now required to travel in a rear-facing car seat.
Police are now able to take temporary custody of a pet in extreme weather conditions.
The State of Vermont is offering $10,000 over two years for people employed by out-of-state companies that are willing to relocated to Vermont and work remotely from there. Lawmakers have set aside $500,000 for the program, which will be awarded on a first come, first serve basis.
Just as the 2020 political season kicks off next week, the State of Florida will restore the voting rights of former felons who have completed their sentences (excluding those convicted of murder and sexual offenses.)
Utah officially has the nation’s lowest blood alcohol content standard for drunk driving, at .05 percent. That equates to about one drink for women and three drinks for most men.
In California, public held corporations based in the United States must have at least one woman on their Board of Directors by the end of the year.
Also in California, pet stores are no longer allowed to sell cats, dogs, or rabbits unless they come from animal shelters or non-profit rescue groups.
And, in the age of tweets and texts, the State of Ohio is going retro, requiring students to learn how to write in cursive by the end of fifth grade.