In the wake of the deaths of three Illinois State Troopers this year, lawmakers are making a push to toughen the penalties for those that violate “Scott’s Law” or the “Move Over” law.
The Illinois House held a hearing on the topic Thursday in Springfield.
The bill was put forward by Rockford Rep. John Cabello (R-68th Dist).
If passed, drivers who don’t move over for first responders could face between one to three years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines — if no one is hurt.
If someone is killed, the violator could spend up to seven years behind bars and permanently lose their driver’s license.
Currently, violators face $10,000 in fines and license suspensions, without jail time.