ROCKFORD, Ill. (WTVO) — The National Weather Service added Winnebago, Boone, and McHenry Counties to the Ice Storm Warning. This portion of the warning will run from 6AM this morning to 6AM Thursday morning. Along with that, they have also added Whiteside and Lee Counties to the Winter Weather Advisory. 

From about mid-morning on, expect the wintry mix to pick up in intensity and to become more widespread, remaining that way for the latter half of the day.

If we do wind up with more freezing rain, accumulations for extreme northern Illinois and southern Wisconsin will likely end up in the .10″ to .50″ range.

The following cities and towns have declared a Winter Weather Emergency (this list will be updated)

  • Beloit: The City of Beloit has declared a snow emergency from 10 a.m. Thursday to 10 a.m. Friday. Residents must remove their cars from city streets while crews remove snow and ice.
  • Janesville: The City of Janesville has declared a winter weather emergency beginning at 3 a.m. on Thursday. All parked vehicles must be removed from city streets until snow and ice removal is complete. Failure to do so could result in a fine of $50.