Illinois law: You don’t have to stay at accident scene, but you have to report it

Local News

ROCKFORD, Ill. (WTVO) — With the recent death of a 53-year-old pedestrian, who was killed crossing Auburn Street on Tuesday, we asked police what to do if you’re the driver in a similar accident.

The driver in the Auburn Street accident did not stay on-scene, but reported the accident a short time later and fully cooperated with police, according to officials.

Rockford Police say many accidents involving a vehicle or pedestrian cause enough damage that it must be reported, but if a driver does not feel safe at the crash location, they can drive to another area, such as a local police station, to report the accident.

“You have 24 hours to report a crash that’s non-bodily injury or death,” said Sgt. Kevin Nordberg. “But you’re going to want to report anything [that causes over] $1,500 as soon as possible. Once you get the crash report, you have 10 days to submit the form to [the Illinois Department of Transportation] and they have to track that, if it’s over $1,500 or [someone was] injured [in the] crash.”

Leaving the scene of a crash that causes injury, without reporting it, could result in jail time.

MORE HEADLINES:

For more local news, download the MyStateline app (iOS) or (Android).

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram!

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News Video

Trending Stories