Illinois Senate passes bill to make Daylight Saving Time permanent

Local News

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WTVO) — The Illinois Senate has passed SB 533 on Tuesday, which would make the observance Daylight Saving Time permanent year-round.

The bill passed with a vote of 44-2.

It now heads to the House.

The bill would make Daylight Saving Time permanent year-round, beginning with when we set the clocks forward again in March 2020, and eliminating the switch to Daylight Standard Time in the Fall.

Currently, Hawaii and portions of Arizona are the only two states that observe Daylight Standard Time year-round.


For more local news, download the MyStateline app (iOS) or (Android) and subscribe with Alexa.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram!

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News Video

Made in the Stateline

More Made in the Stateline

Education Matters

More Education Matters

Behind the Badge

More Behind the Badge

Stateline Strong

More Stateline Strong





Trending Stories