Winnebago County issues disaster proclamation during coronavirus outbreak

Local News

ROCKFORD, Ill (WTVO) — Winnebago County officials have issued a disaster proclamation in the developing coronavirus outbreak.

Winnebago County Board Chairman Frank Haney says the proclamation will allow the county to access resources, equipment, and additional personnel to handle the outbreak.

The Illinois Department of Public Health today announced 12 new cases of coronavirus disease across Illinois.  Two additional counties are now reporting cases, Peoria and Will counties.  Other locations with cases include Chicago and Champaign, Clinton, Cook, Cumberland, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, Sangamon, St. Clair, Whiteside, Winnebago, and  Woodford counties.

All restaurant dining rooms are to close as of 9 p.m. Monday. City officials advise the use of carryout and delivery services to support businesses.

The city is deferring liquor license renewals for 60 days.

On Tuesday’s elections, Rockford Mayor McNamara says Rockford voters can bring a black ball point pen to their polling place tomorrow, but Winnebago County residents may not.

“My strongest recommendation: stay home. Practice social distancing,” McNamara said.

For more local news, download the MyStateline app (iOS) or (Android) and subscribe with Alexa.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram!

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News Video

Trending Stories