DirecTV

New violations for Illinois texting, driving go into effect July 1st

Local News
texting and driving generic

(WTVO) — New violations are going into effect in Illinois starting on July 1st.

Police will no longer give warning tickets and will begin issuing moving violations for people caught texting, accessing maps, or using their phones without a hands-free system, according to the Daily Herald.

Under the new law, texting, or talking while holding a device, is also illegal when at a stop sign or red light.

Three moving violations within a 12 month period will result in a license suspension.

The only exceptions to the law is if the caller is reporting an emergency or if they are parked on the shoulder of the roadway.

Drivers who are under 18 years old are not allowed to even use hands-free technology.


For more local news, download the MyStateline app (iOS) or (Android) and subscribe with Alexa.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram!

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Made in the Stateline

More Made in the Stateline

Education Matters

More Education Matters

Behind the Badge

More Behind the Badge

Stateline Strong

More Stateline Strong