Trump declares Illinois a disaster area

Local News

(WTVO) — Historic flooding in the Spring prompted President Trump to declare Illinois a major disaster area.

Twenty-seven Illinois counties qualified, including Carroll, Whiteside, and Stephenson counties, which are now eligible for federal funding.

Local governments and some not-for-profits are eligible for the funds, which can be used for debris removal, new emergency protective measures, and the restoration of infrastructure.

The State of Illinois will work with the Federal Emergency Management Agency to manage the money.

A request for help for homeowners and businesses is still under review.


For more local news, download the MyStateline app (iOS) or (Android) and subscribe with Alexa.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram!

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News Video

Made in the Stateline

More Made in the Stateline

Education Matters

More Education Matters

Behind the Badge

More Behind the Badge

Stateline Strong

More Stateline Strong





Trending Stories