Byron’s Baker, Hononegah’s Cassioppi Win State Wrestling Titles


Byron’s Nolan Baker (43-0), and Hononegah’s Anthony Cassioppi (48-0) leave Champaign as the stateline’s two state champions on Saturday.

Baker capped off an undefeated season pinning Kewanee’s Lewis Robinson in just fifty-eight seconds in 145. While Hononegah’s Cassioppi sealed with his perfect season pinning Hinsdale Cenrtal’s Niko Ivanisevic in two minutes and thirty-eight seconds in 285.

Dakota’s Andrew Wenger fell just short of repeating as state champ. He finished second in 195 in Class 1A.

For a look at how some of the other wrestlers around the stateline finished click on the media player.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Sports Video