Local wrestlers leave Champaign as state champs


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. (WTVO/WQRF) — Some local high school wrestlers left Champaign’s State Farm Center as state champs. In Class 1A, Phoenix Blakely of Dakota took home first at 120 pounds.

Sterling’s Kyle Tunink of Sterling is also a state champ at 152 pounds. Winnebago’s Bryce Faworski took home first as well at 160 pounds.

Below are the full results of how other local wrestlers did at state:

2A 113
2nd Place – Markel Baker of Freeport (H.S.)
1st Place Match
Chris Moore (Aurora (A. Christian)) 43-8, Fr. over Markel Baker (Freeport (H.S.)) 33-3, So. (Dec 4-3)

2A 145
6th Place – Mauricio Garcia of Sterling (H.S.)
5th Place Match
Ben Shvartsman (Deerfield (H.S.)) 37-14, So. over Mauricio Garcia (Sterling (H.S.)) 29-9, Jr. (Dec 5-4)

2A 182
5th Place – Matthew Chavers of Freeport (H.S.)
5th Place Match
Matthew Chavers (Freeport (H.S.)) 35-5, Sr. over Arnold Edwards (Cahokia (H.S.)) 43-6, Sr. (TF-1.5 5:51 (20-2))

2A 220
3rd Place – Jason Farnham Jr. of Sterling (H.S.)
3rd Place Match
Jason Farnham Jr. (Sterling (H.S.)) 32-5, So. over Jon Brown (Bloomington (H.S.)) 30-5, Sr. (Fall 0:50)

2A 285
3rd Place – Isaiah Batteast of Freeport (H.S.)
3rd Place Match
Isaiah Batteast (Freeport (H.S.)) 13-4, Sr. over Payton Piraino (LaSalle (L.-Peru)) 38-5, Sr. (MD 14-5)

1A 106
3rd Place – Garrett Luke of Lena (L.-Winslow)
3rd Place Match
Garrett Luke (Lena (L.-Winslow)) 45-6, Fr. over Jarek Wehrle (Vandalia) 46-3, Jr. (SV-1 4-2)

1A 113
3rd Place – Maddux Blakely of Dakota
4th Place – Donovan Crumpacker of Stillman Valley
3rd Place Match
Maddux Blakely (Dakota) 42-6, So. over Donovan Crumpacker (Stillman Valley) 34-6, So. (Fall 1:12)

1A 120
1st Place – Phoenix Blakely of Dakota
1st Place Match
Phoenix Blakely (Dakota) 37-7, Fr. over Paul Keane (Peotone) 44-2, Sr. (Dec 3-1)

1A 126
4th Place – Carlos Sanchez of Winnebago
3rd Place Match
Ben Gavel (Tolono (Unity)) 50-4, Jr. over Carlos Sanchez (Winnebago) 24-6, Sr. (Fall 4:14)

1A 132
4th Place – Marey Roby of Lena (L.-Winslow)
3rd Place Match
Gabe Spencer (Heyworth) 39-2, Sr. over Marey Roby (Lena (L.-Winslow)) 44-9, So. (Dec 8-2)

1A 138
2nd Place – Adam Meenen of Rock Falls
1st Place Match
Dallas Krueger (Taylor Ridge (Rockridge)) 47-0, Sr. over Adam Meenen (Rock Falls) 45-7, Sr. (Fall 4:40)
5th Place – Winston McPeek of Lena (L.-Winslow)
5th Place Match
Winston McPeek (Lena (L.-Winslow)) 45-8, Sr. over Ethan O`Linc (Monticello) 39-12, Sr. (MD 18-7)

1A 152
1st Place – Kyle Tunink of Sterling (Newman Central Catholic)
1st Place Match
Kyle Tunink (Sterling (Newman Central Catholic)) 45-1, Sr. over Jack Patting (Rock Island (Alleman)) 45-4, Jr. (Dec 5-1)
4th Place – Jason Hermann of Lena (L.-Winslow)
3rd Place Match
Lukas Eagle (Mt. Zion) 41-2, Sr. over Jason Hermann (Lena (L.-Winslow)) 44-9, Jr. (UTB 3-2)

1A 160
1st Place – Bryce Faworski of Winnebago
1st Place Match
Bryce Faworski (Winnebago) 39-1, Sr. over David Papach (Coal City) 31-6, Sr. (Dec 8-6)
6th Place – Charlie Patterson of Auburn
5th Place Match
Makail Stanley (Argenta (A.-Oreana)) 43-4, Sr. over Charlie Patterson (Auburn) 43-9, Sr. (Fall 3:41)

1A 170
2nd Place – Andrew Wenzel of Dakota
1st Place Match
Logan Deacetis (Fairbury (Prairie Central)) 57-0, Jr. over Andrew Wenzel (Dakota) 39-3, Jr. (Dec 3-2)
5th Place – Case Harmston of Lena (L.-Winslow)
6th Place – Gervasio Marchizza of Auburn
5th Place Match
Case Harmston (Lena (L.-Winslow)) 45-9, Jr. over Gervasio Marchizza (Auburn) 43-9, Sr. (MD 15-6)

1A 182
4th Place – Evan Riggle of Dakota
3rd Place Match
Micah Downs (Tolono (Unity)) 37-5, Sr. over Evan Riggle (Dakota) 35-8, Sr. (MD 11-3)
6th Place – Drew Killam of Auburn
5th Place Match
Mason Clem (Springfield (Sacred Heart-Griffin)) 43-5, Jr. over Drew Killam (Auburn) 32-11, Sr. (Fall 3:04)

1A 195
3rd Place – Sebastian Quintana of Dixon (H.S.)
3rd Place Match
Sebastian Quintana (Dixon (H.S.)) 36-1, Sr. over Cade Scott (Tolono (Unity)) 48-5, Sr. (Dec 8-7)

1A 220
2nd Place – Peyton Lind of Byron
1st Place Match
Bryan Caves (Port Byron (Riverdale)) 48-1, Jr. over Peyton Lind (Byron) 42-3, Sr. (Dec 4-2)

1A 285
2nd Place – Tyler Elsbury of Byron
1st Place Match
Hayden Copass (Westville) 26-0, Jr. over Tyler Elsbury (Byron) 45-2, Sr. (SV-1 3-1)
4th Place – Charlie Jagusah of Rock Island (Alleman)
3rd Place Match
Anthony Enlow (Vandalia) 25-1, Sr. over Charlie Jagusah (Rock Island (Alleman)) 38-12, Fr. (Fall 1:26)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Sports Video

Overtime on Fox 39 Fridays at 11 p.m.

Trending Stories